Eugene H. Holeman Award

The Eugene H. Holeman Award is presented annually to a regular member of AFDOSS for exceptional service to their state or the nation in the performance of duties and responsibilities in the administration and enforcement of food, drug, cosmetic and consumer products. The award was established by AFDOSS in 1977 and the first presentation of the award was given during the 30th Annual Education Conference in Williamsburg, Va., in April 1978. The late Eugene H. Holeman was President of both AFDO and AFDOSS and the following excerpts are from his writing in 1987:

“AFDOSS has always been, and will remain, my principal resource for examples of friendship and ability in administering federal and state laws…”
“AFDO is an organization if, once you have become an active member, you are influenced for life.”


44001305185_34cd5d419a_z (1)

Dr. Fruin has been an active and contributing member of AFDO and AFDOSS for more than 16 years, and has dedicated 53 years of public service in various food safety roles, including 30 years with the U.S. Army.  Having lived all over the world, he spent time running the only food inspection unit in Vietnam (providing support to the Army, Navy, Air Force, and Marine Corps), and served the U.S. Army in various food safety roles in Vietnam, Iran, Australia, New Zealand, Guam, Hong Kong, Thailand, Singapore and the Philippines. He retired from the military as a U.S. Army Commander.

Dr. Fruin has served as a member of the National Advisory Committee on Microbiological Criteria for Foods, member of the editorial board of the Journal of Food Protection and consultant to the U.S. Army Surgeon General for Food Technology.  He has authored (and co-authored) more than 80 manuscripts in peer reviewed journals, laboratory reports, and abstracts.

He served the State of Florida as a Bureau Chief for 23 years, before retiring in 2016. In Florida, he was responsible for establishing policy, implementing enforcement of federal and state regulations and ensuring the direction of the program based on changes in regulations and technology for over 45,000 food establishments. Today, he continues to mentor those within the Bureau who carry on his vision.


The Eugene H. Holeman award recipient is determined by a committee of five members from AFDOSS, who consider all nominations for the award each year and provide a recommendation prior to the Annual Education Conference. The five-member committee is determined by the AFDOSS By-Laws (Section 15), which states: “The Eugene H. Holeman Awards Committee shall consist of 5 members as follows: (1) the most recent recipient as Chairman, (2) the President of the Association and (3) the three past living recipients. If three members as described are not available, the President may appoint such members as necessary to fill all five positions.

To be eligible for the Eugene H. Holeman Award, a nominee must have demonstrated that he/she has served the Association and made a valuable contribution to food, drug, cosmetic and consumer products and administration and enforcement.  A previous recipient of the award shall not be eligible for re-nomination. The Committee shall consider each report of nomination, as received, and the committee members shall have the right to independently canvas the field in order that no one worthy of consideration is overlooked.  The Committee shall make a recommendation but an award need not be granted each year.

Past Recipients of the Eugene Holeman Award

Just a few of the esteemed past recipients of the Eugene H. Holeman Award.

2017 Natalie Adan Georgia Department of Agriculture, Atlanta, GA
2016 Mark Sestak Alabama Department of Public Health
2015 Pamela Miles Virginia Dept. Agriculture & CS Richmond, VA
2014 Joe Reardon North Carolina Department of Agri. Raleigh, NC
2013 Rita Johnson FL Dept. Agri. & Cons. Serv. Tallahassee, FL
2012 Joanne Brown, DVM FL Dept. Agri. & Cons. Serv. Tallahassee, FL
2011 Dennis Baker FDA – Dallas TX
2010 Charlene Bruce Mississippi Dept. of Public Health, Jackson, MS
2009 Guy Delius Kentucky Public Health Protection Safety, Frankfort, KY
2008 Cameron Smoak Georgia Department of Agriculture, Atlanta, GA
2007 Dr. Anna Hood Mississippi State University, MS
2006 Gayle Lancette FDA, Southeast Region Laboratory, Atlanta, GA
2005 Lydia Strayer Mississippi Dept. of Health, Jackson, MS, Vicksburg-Residence
2004 Dr. Bill Brooks South Carolina Dept. of Agriculture, Columbia, SC
2003 Jimmy Hopper Tennessee Dept. of Agriculture, Nashville, TN
2002 Donald Howell North Carolina Dept. Agriculture & Consumer Affairs, Raleigh, NC
2001 Doug Sanders Virginia Dept. Agriculture & Consumer Affairs, Richmond, VA
2000 Douglas Tolen Retired, FDA Director, Orlando, FL
1999 Earl Herrmann Food and Milk Specialist, Alabama Dept. of Health, Montgomery, AL
1998 John Turner Southeast Regional Director, FDA, Atlanta, GA
1997 Dan Smyly Director, Florida Dept. of Agriculture & Consumer Services, Tallahassee, FL
1996 Robert Gordon Director, Food & Drug Protection Div., NC Dept. of Agriculture, Raleigh, NC
1995 Raymond Eads Food Inspector, Tennessee Dept. of Agriculture, Cleveland, TN
1994 John Draper Kentucky Environmental Sanitation Branch, Cabinet for Human Resources, Frankfort, KY
1993 Truluck Kelly Retired, Director of Laboratories, SC Dept. of Agriculture, Columbia, SC
1992 Betsy Woodward Chief, Food Laboratory, FL Dept. of Agriculture & Consumer Serv. Tallahassee, FL
1991 Sander Bellman Director of Chemistry, FDA, Atlanta, GA
1990 George W. Fong Chief, Pesticide Residue Chemical Laboratory, Florida Dept. of Agriculture & Consumer Serv., Tallahassee, FL
1989 William Cobb Texas A & M University, State Chemist,College Station, TX
1988 John McGlamery Assistant Director, Food and Drug Protection Div., NC Dept. of Agriculture , Raleigh, NC
1987 Mary Logan Food & Drug Administration, Tennessee Dept. of Agriculture, Nashville, TN
1986 Edsel Moore Director, Radiation & Product Safety, Kentucky Dept. for Health Services, Frankfort, KY
1985 Martha Rhodes Asst. Commissioner, FL Dept. of Agriculture and Consumer Services, Tallahassee, FL
1984 Robert Reeves Director, Division of Foods and Dairies, TN Dept. of Agriculture, Nashville, TN
1983 Irving Bell Director, Div. for Consumer Health Protection, Kentucky Dept. for Human Resources, Frankfort, KY
1982 Leo Turner Public Affairs, The Coca-Cola Co., Atlanta, GA
1981 Maurice Kinslow Regional Food & Drug Director, FDA, Atlanta, GA
1980 Shelby Johnson Director, Milk & Food Sanitation, FDA, Atlanta, GA
1979 Doyle C. Golden Chief, Pesticide Residue Laboratories, FL Dept. of Agriculture & Consumer Services
1978 Raymond Summerlin Former Director, Consumer Div. Georgia Dept. of Agriculture Protection